Berlinische Räume: “A Visit To Zensor” / Photographs from the famous record store taken in 1983

39874_1412566270603_4870059_n Early Zensor concert poster 1979 ( Thomas Pargmann Collection)
IMG_20130706_0008_0002

I met Burkhardt Seiler in school in 1968, we became friends and had our share in the late 60s student revolt. Subsequently we were thrown out of school and I lost sight of Burkhardt.

I didn’t meet him again till June 1981, when I spotted him at the Venus Weltklang Festival at the Tempodrom. His formerly long hair was cropped short, it looked like he had done it himself without a mirror. He was wearing a dark-blue trenchcoat that gave him the looks of a young mormon missionary on his european tour.

IMG_20130829_0006

The store in backroom of the Blue Moon boutique

IMG_20130829_0005The Zensor

I visited him at his record store in Belziger Straße, which was already a wellknown institution, not only in West-Berlin. From there he also ran the Zensor Label. In 1982 I became his “student apprentice”, not really beeing a student and neither being much of an apprentice to him.

I told him about the fanzine I was planning to issue. He gave me advise and proposed to edit “Assasin” together with me. But then I realised a collaboration with Burkhardt would mean doing a Zensor fanzine and that wasn’t what I had in mind. I wanted to have control on my fanzine and do it my way although I expected I would fail. But I wanted to fail my way!

IMG_20130509_0001 Assasin “pilot issue”

I quit working for Zensor, found a job at a bookstore where I worked 16 hours a week making 500 Marks a month. I lived in a small flat which had no toilet, no warm water and a coalfired furnace. It became the editorial office und some friends became the staff. With the helps of Rainer Jacob, Cordula Lippke, Herbert Piechot and Andreas B. we realised a pilot issue in late 1982. Until 1985 we issued eight magazines and four audio-cassettes.

When I heard the Zensor was about to close his shop in autumn 1983 I went there with a photographer to do some last shots.

IMG_20130624_0002

IMG_20130829_0002

On September 19th 1983 there was a bye-bye-concert for the beloved store at the LOFT organised by Monika Döring. But the legend lived on…

Two years ago Cordula met Burkhardt and she told me he’s happy in a relationship.

September 2013 I started a blog. Again Rainer Jacob became my art director. In july 2015 I issued my first novel “Xanadu ’73” with 13 illustrations by Rainer. Together with the book we released a new Assasin fanzine. We’re already planning a special “Punk In West-Berlin” issue. You can order book and zine by writing a mail to marcusklugeberlin@yahoo.de

IMG_20130829_0002_0002

IMG_20130829_0001

IMG_20150930_0005

Above: the novel

IMG_20150930_0004

Above: cover and some pages from the new fanzine.

The book costs 13€ the fanzine is 5€. Order here: marcusklugeberlin@yahoo.de

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Berlin Typography

Text and the City // Buchstaben und die Stadt

Der ganz normale Wahnsinn

Das Leben und was uns sonst noch so passiert

500 Wörter die Woche

500 Wörter, (fast) jede Woche. (Nur solange der Vorrat reicht)

Licht ist mehr als Farbe.

(Kurt Kluge - "Der Herr Kortüm")

Gabryon's Blog

Die Zeit vollendet dich...

bildbetrachten

Bilder sehen und verstehen.

Idiot Joy Showland

This is why I hate intellectuals

The Insatiable Traveler

Travel inspiration, stories, photos and advice

Marlies de Wit Fotografie

Zoektocht naar het beeld

Ein Blog von Vielen

aus dem Er_Leben mit dissoziativer Identitätsstruktur auf dem Autismus-Spektrum

literaturfrey

In der Kunst spielt ja die Zeit, umgekehrt wie in der Industrie, gar keine Rolle, es gibt da keine verlorene Zeit, wenn nur am Ende das Möglichste an Intensität und Vervollkommnung erreicht wird. H. Hesse

Blackbirds.TV - Berlin fletscht seine Szene

Zur Musikszene im weltweiten Berliner Speckgürtel

Reiner "rcpffm" Peffm 's mobile blog and diary

Smile! You’re at the best **mobile** made *RWD* WordPress.com site ever

Leselebenszeichen

Buchbesprechungen von Ulrike Sokul©

Dokumentation eines Lebenswegs

Ein Blog im stetigen Wandel. Über den Wert von Familie. Krankheit, Aufarbeitung von Gewalt, Briefe an meinen Vater und meinen Sohn. Wohin wird mich alles führen?

.documenting.the.obvious

there is no "not enough light" there is only "not enough time"